The Friends

they begin with you
without you they do not exist
they haunt me for they
sat by my side too long, listening

don’t talk too much
take heed
for the ears of friends
do listen

they’ll remember
what you say, so stay
away from dirty liars
that say ‘I love you’

how do we know who to give to,
our blood and our dirt?
for me, the cost has
run too high;

my dignity
integrity
my faith and
my worth

of self.
they dove with them,
them who are the judgers,
but remember: of self,

they begin with you
without you
they do not exist
ergo, the pains and twists
of heart you’ve felt…
throw these to the wind
let them lie far away
from where your heart,
pure, stays

something to say about that? don't hesitate.

